Key Personnel

Karen Burg, Principal Investigator

  • Harbor Lights Chair in Biomedical Research
  • Vice President for Research
  • University of Georgia

Isaac Crumbly, Workforce Development/Community Partnership Facilitator

  • Associate Vice President for Careers and Collaborative Programs
  • Director, Cooperative Developmental Energy Program
  • Fort Valley State University

Govind Kannan, Workforce Development/Community Partnership Facilitator

  • Professor & Dean
  • College of Agriculture, Family Sciences and Technology
  • Fort Valley State University

Matt Dunne, Innovation in Place Facilitator

  • Center on Rural Innovation

Neela White, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Accessibility Council for Inclusive Innovation Co-Lead

  • Project Director, Inclusive STEM Ecosystems for Equity & Diversity
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science

Karen DeMeester, Next GA Evaluator

  • Public Service Associate
  • UGA Carl Vinson Institute of Government

Alex Aspley Esco, Project Manager

  • Project Manager
  • UGA Office of Research

Chithra Adams, Innovation Group Leader

  • Director of Learning & Evaluation
  • VentureWell

Sue Chapman, Workforce Group Leader

  • Associate State 4-H Leader
  • UGA Cooperative Extension

Harshvardhan Thippareddi, Use-Inspired Research Group Leader

  • John Bekkers Professor in Poultry Science
  • Interim Associate Dean for Research
  • UGA College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences

Andrea Scarrow, Community Engagement Group Leader

  • Southwest District Director
  • UGA Cooperative Extension

Matt Colvin, Industry & Economic Development Group Leader

  • Director of Economic Development
  • UGA Office of Research

Laura Perry Johnson, Quality of Life & Wellbeing Group Co-Leader

  • Associate Dean for Extension
  • UGA College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences

Anna Scheyett, Quality of Life & Wellbeing Group Co-Leader

  • Professor
  • UGA School of Social Work
The University of Georgia Department of Research
NSF Engines Development Award